Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
Award-Winning Composers
Call 424.288.2898

Biography Print Bio

Academy Award-winning songwriters Benj Pasek & Justin Paul composed the lyrics for the hit movie musical La La Land directed by Damien Chazelle. Their songs from the film “City of Stars” and “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” were both nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Song. “City of Stars,” sung by Ryan Gosling & Emma Stone, was awarded the Academy Award and Golden Globe for Best Original Song in a Motion Picture.

On Broadway they composed the music & lyrics for Dear Evan Hansen, their highly acclaimed original musical starring breakout Ben Platt in the titular role. The New York Times called Dear Evan Hansen “a sweet, sad and quite moving new musical [with a] beguiling score, the finest work yet from Benj Pasek and Justin Paul.” The Washington Post hailed the musical as a “heart-piercingly lovely new musical… with a top-flight contemporary pop score.”

Pasek & Paul also composed the Anna Kendrick song “Get Back Up Again” for the DreamWorks animated film Trolls, which was produced by Justin Timberlake.

Upcoming for Pasek & Paul are the original movie musical The Greatest Showman at Fox starring Hugh Jackman & Michelle Williams and the live action remake of Snow White at Disney. Earlier this year, the songwriting duo were nominated for a Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Special Class – Short Format Daytime Program for the song “Unlimited,” featured in an Old Navy Youtube campaign.

Pasek & Paul rose to prominence in 2012 with their Tony-nominated score for the Broadway musical A Christmas Story, an adaptation of the classic holiday film of the same name. They also received great acclaim for their musical Dogfight, which in 2013 won Off-Broadway’s highest honor, the Lucille Lortel Award for Best New Musical. Also in 2013, they contributed several songs to NBC’s Smash, landing at the top of the iTunes charts with songs such as “Caught in the Storm”; and have also written songs for PBS’s Sesame Street and the Disney Channel’s Johnny and the Sprites. Their earlier theater credits include the children’s musical James and the Giant Peach and the popular song cycle Edges. Among their numerous honors, in 2007 they became the youngest winners ever of the famed Jonathan Larson Award for most promising musical theater songwriters.

Official Site
Official Site: Dear Evan Hansen
Article: What It’s Like to Make It in Showbiz With Your Best Friend
Article: From La La Land to NYC - Pasek & Paul Rule 2016
Article: How Songwriters Pasek, Paul Got the Job
Article: Pasek & Paul Have Arrived With 'Dear Evan Hansen'
Related Speakers